top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureHEA Books

#AmazingAuthor Spotlight - CJ Allison!



This week, I caught up with CJ Allison to ask her about her books, her writing process, and what's coming next for readers. I got to meet CJ last month at the Authors in the Steel City signing. (I'll put a shameless plug in here: this signing is one of my favorites. If you haven't attended in the past, put it on your calendar for next year! Labor Day weekend 2020.) That said, I'm so thrilled to share her and some of her books with you this week.



How did you get started writing?

I’ve always been a reader and started beta reading for several authors a few years back. I started writing a story but never thought I would publish. With the encouragement from the authors I was working with, I decided to give it a go and just published my 9th book.


Where do you get your inspiration from?

Every day life. I can be a cynic about love but I’m also a helpless romantic. I love happily ever afters and hope to one day have mine

What does your writing process look like? I pop open a beer and sit down at my laptop and just write. As Hemingway says, write drunk and edit sober. It has worked this far.


What's the most difficult part of writing for you?

When I’m going through anxiety or feeling off, I have trouble writing. If I’m not feeling the characters or they stop speaking to me.


What's the most rewarding part?

Having someone get the story and relate to it. When I get feedback that they cried or laughed, knowing I was able to pull that emotion from them with my words is amazing


Do you have a favorite character?

I love them all. They are all a piece of me or someone I know. Each hold a special place. Bradley in the finding series was my dude at first. Then Samson in the same series hit the feels. Bryce in Unshatter me was my hulk and that book took me into a more serious place. Then Kaden with his nerdy ways in Broken Ties. Gavin in Defending Mine is top on the list too. Mick in my latest release was a hoot. The side characters in the broken brother series all played an important role. Jessica, KC and Max are the kids and each amazing to me


How many books do you have published?

Just hit 9 this week


Can you share what you're working on now?

I’m working on the last book of the Love in the Smokies series. It’s MM. You meet Patrick in the first two books and now it’s his turn to find love


What book(s) would you recommend for readers new to you?

It depends on what they like. My first series is contemporary, second is more series military and the most current is Tom com.


You can catch up with CJ at the following places:

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/cjallisonauthor

Twitter Profile: www.twitter.com/cjallisonauthor

Instagram Profile: www.instagram.com/cjallisonauthor

Amazon Page: https://www.amazon.com/C-J-Allison/e/B071WKGCFZ/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

11 views0 comments
bottom of page