top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureHEA Books

#AmazingAuthor Spotlight - Mandi Konesni




I met Mandi in April at the Dreaming Dirty in Michigan signing. I knew next to no one when I went to this on my own and I came away with several new friends! I knew I wanted to get to Mandi's table before I even knew about her books. Why? Because she had bright pink hair! But that's just the first thing I noticed, and I'm so glad I got to talk to her. She is such a sweetheart and has helped promote other authors to her fans with big giveaways and events. I have Volumes 1 and 2 of her Risque Romance collection waiting in my TBR pile. And you can add her to your TBR too!


Get to know a little more about Mandi:


How did you get started writing?

I can't honestly remember how I got started writing... it seems to me that I was always telling stories, a pen in one hand and a journal in the other. In my teens, I started gravitating towards poetry, but began writing adult themed short stories shortly after that. The rest, as they say, was history.


Where do you get your inspiration from?

Everywhere! I firmly believe that the world is the creative's oyster. I love to people-watch. I create stories for the people I see walking by. Nature gives the most brilliant backdrops for settings that can spark my imagination. Music is a huge boost to my creative energy... I am a music lover, and some bands and songs just get me thinking and creating like nothing else.


What does your writing process look like?

I use a workbook I wrote called NovelCraft to situate my characters, settings, plots, and outlines. After that, I sit down and write. I tend to work best under a deadline, so NaNoWriMo is my forte. I try to do several personal NaNo challenges a year with author friends if I can, to keep the momentum going. Once done, I set the draft aside for a month or two before diving back in to begin my editing.


What's the most difficult part of writing for you?

The first stage, my plotting. I never plotted before, I was a panster through and through, but after trying it, I realized how much easier it made the writing stage... the outlines made blasting through 50k a breeze. Getting to that point though and corralling all my ideas into a cohesive organized line? Not a breeze. :)


What's the most rewarding part?

When someone tells me they love the story and couldn't stop reading. That, to me, makes all the struggles and rough nights worth it. If I made one reader get lost in the story and leave the real world behind for a little while then I've done my job as an author.


Do you have a favorite character?

Right now, definitely Baylin from Ashes of Eden. She is a spunky, take no crap, sassy, opinionated heroine who fights her own battles on her own terms. I think a lot of women can either see themselves in her, or could look up to her.


How many books do you have published?

Including my non-fiction books, I have 9 currently wandering the stratosphere. My main 'genre' is paranormal romance, but I've got some non-fictions, some urban paranormal, some horror/thriller, and even some poetry!


Can you share what you're working on now?

Currently I'm finishing up the final touches on Risque Romance Vol 3, and an urban paranormal standalone called Something Wicked. After that, I have three anthology stories for charity that are due early next year, so I'll be diving into the writing cave! :)


What book(s) would you recommend for readers new to you?

Definitely Ashes of Eden, for paranormal romance fans. I'm really proud of it...I've taken everything I've learned over the years and really feel this is my best book yet. For readers who don't want romance in their books, The Kira Malone Chronicles is a little Supernatural, a little Warehouse 13, a little The Librarian's... and a whole lot of fun! Bonus, that's my kid sister on the cover. I couldn't find a plus-size, every-woman model I liked, so I roped her into posing for me. I couldn't be prouder of her!


Connect with Mandi on Social Media!


Facebook Page https://www.facebook.com/mandikauthor

Twitter Profile https://twitter.com/mandikauthor

Instagram Profile https://www.instagram.com/mandikauthor/

Amazon Page https://www.amazon.com/author/mandikonesni

Website https://mandikonesni.com/

6 views0 comments
bottom of page