top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureHEA Books

#AmazingAuthor Spotlight - Rachel J Bonner


Rachel J Bonner has 3 books out in her series, which she categorizes as Post-apocalyptic paranormal romantic fantasy and the 4th is coming next year!


I caught up with her shortly before her 3rd book released and asked about her writing. Meet her below, and follow our media today for links and insights into her books!

How did you get started writing?

I had a story in my head and I just needed to get it down on paper before I forgot it.


Where do you get your inspiration from?

For my Choices and Consequences series, it came from a dream that now forms a scene at the end of the first book, Strand of Faith. The rest of the story just developed around that moment. But I can just get ideas from anywhere - something will strike me, I'll start thinking about it, and an idea pops up.


What does your writing process look like?

First, I just get the story down on paper. Then I'll rewrite, probably several times. Then it goes to my editor who makes excellent suggestions and I rewrite again. Then it goes back to her and we repeat the process - eventually I have a final text, although I'll probably still change words and sentences during the final proofread.


What's the most difficult part of writing for you?

It's not the writing - I find all that easy and exciting, even editing (especially editing!). The difficult part is publicity and marketing, getting my books in front of people who will enjoy them.


What's the most rewarding part?

When somebody tells me how much they've enjoyed them, and starts talking about the characters as if they were real.


Do you have a favorite character?

All my characters have a bit of me in them. My early favourite was Leonie, the main female character, because she's most like me. But I think my long term favourite is Andrew. He's best friends with the two main characters and he's just a really nice person, who's having a tough time due to the things his friends are facing.


How many books do you have published?

Strand of Faith (#1) and Thread of Hope (#2) are published, Weave of Love (#3) is out on 24th October 2019 and the final part, Cloth of Grace (#4) will be published on 29th February 2020. That's my heroine, Leonie's birthday.


Can you share what you're working on now?

I'm working on the fourth book, Cloth of Grace, as it is about to go to my editor. But I've also got a few short stories set in the same universe, a new book set in a different universe which is currently called Angel's Choice, and a non-fiction book relating to family history on the go.


What book(s) would you recommend for readers new to you?

Start with Strand of Faith. You can pick up part way through the series and I've started including a 'Story So Far' section, but you'll get most out of it if you start with Strand of Faith.


Connect with Rachel!

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/racheljbonnerauthor

Twitter Profile: www.twitter.com/racheljbonner1

Amazon Page: https://www.amazon.com/author/racheljbonner

Website: https://www.racheljbonner.co.uk

4 views0 comments
bottom of page